NEW ORLEANS — University of Louisiana at Lafayette senior forward Mercedes Johnson is a first-team selection on the Sun Belt Conference’s preseason all-conference team announced Tuesday.

The league’s coaches voted on the team and preseason polls that were unveiled during the Sun Belt’s Women’s Basketball Media Day.

The men’s preseason team and preseason poll will be released Wednesday.

In the media polls, Denver received six of the 12 first-place votes and 62 points to finish atop the West Division balloting.

The Pioneers are followed by Arkansas State, Arkansas-Little Rock, Louisiana-Monroe, North Texas and UL-Lafayette.

Middle Tennessee received nine first-place votes and 68 points to lead the East Division.

Florida International is second, followed by Western Kentucky, South Alabama, Florida Atlantic and Troy.

Johnson, a second-team All-Sun Belt selection last season, led ULL with 14.4 points and 6.2 rebounds per game last season.

The Houston native had 22 double-figure scoring contests, including four of 20-plus points. She ranked fifth in the Sun Belt in scoring and sixth in offensive rebounding (3.3 boards per game).

She ranks fifth in Louisiana-Lafayette history with 1,196 points.

Others on the first team are co-Players of the Year Kaetlyn Murdoch of Denver and Ebony Rowe of Middle Tennessee, Shania Hurst of Arkansas State, and Jerica Coley of Florida International.

Louisiana-Monroe center Larrie Williams is a second-team pick.

Sun Belt Report

Preseason polls

West Division

1. Denver (6) 62

2. Arkansas State (1) 56

3. Arkansas-Little Rock (3) 53

4. Louisiana-Monroe 29

5. North Texas (1) 28

6. Louisiana-Lafayette (1) 24

East Division

1. Middle Tennessee (9) 68

2. Florida International (1) 58

3. Western Kentucky (1) 48

4. South Alabama 38

5. Florida Atlantic (1) 23

6. Troy 17

Preseason all-conference

First team

*Kaetlyn Murdoch, Denver, Sr., F

*Ebony Rowe, Middle Tennessee, So., F

Mercedes Johnson, UL-Lafayette, Sr., F

Shania Hurst, Arkansas State, Sr., G

Jerica Coley, Florida International, So., G

Second team

Jasmine Godbolt, North Texas, Jr., F

Marian Kursh, Arkansas-Little Rock, Sr., C

Icelyn Elie, Middle Tennessee, Jr., F

Larrie Williams, Louisiana-Monroe, Sr., C

LaTeira Owens, Western Kentucky, Sr., F

Third team

DeAngela Sword, Troy, Sr., G

Finda Mansare, Florida International, Jr., F

Sarda Peterson, South Alabama, Sr., G

Emiko Smith, Denver, Jr., G

Breana Turner, Florida Atlantic, Sr., G

*Preseason co-Players of the Year