Sprint Cup


Site: Bristol, Tennessee.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 10 a.m.-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (ESPN2, 4:30-6 p.m.); Saturday, race, 6:30 p.m. (ABC, 6-10 p.m.).

Track: Bristol Motor Speedway (oval, 0.533 miles).

Race distance: 500 laps, 266.5 miles.

Last year: Matt Kenseth raced to the fifth of seven 2014 victories.

Last week: Jeff Gordon won at Michigan for his third victory of the year.

Fast facts: Tony Stewart is expected to miss his third straight race since striking and killing Kevin Ward Jr. in a sprint car race in Canandaigua, New York. Stewart has been in seclusion since Ward’s death, his whereabouts undisclosed. ... Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. With three regular-season races left, Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson and Brad Keselowski top the series with three victories. Kevin Harvick, Joey Logano and Carl Edwards each have two wins, and AJ Allmendinger, Kyle Busch, Aric Almirola, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings, three points ahead of Hendrick Motorsports teammate Earnhardt. ... Edwards won the rain-shortened race at the track in March. He will drive for Joe Gibbs Racing next season after 12 years with Roush Fenway.

Next race: Oral-B USA 500, Aug. 31, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, Georgia.




Site: Bristol, Tennessee.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 2:30-4 p.m.), race, 6:30 p.m. (ESPN, 6-8:30 p.m.).

Track: Bristol Motor Speedway (oval, 0.533 miles).

Race distance: 200 laps, 133.25 miles.

Last year: Kyle Busch raced to the ninth of his 12 2013 victories.

Last week: Chris Buescher won the road-course race at Mid-Ohio for his first series victory.

Fast facts: Busch won the March race at the track for his 16th career Bristol victory in NASCAR’s three national series, the most by a driver at any track. He has a record seven Nationwide victories at the track and has five Cup and four Truck wins. Busch has three victories in 16 starts this year to extend his series-record victory total to 66. ... Kevin Harvick, a five-time series winner at the track, is driving the No. 5 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports. ... Chase Elliott leads the season standings, 10 points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith.

Next race: Great Clips 300, Aug. 30, Atlanta Motor Speedway, Hampton, Georgia.


Verizon Indycar

Grand Prix Of Sonoma

Site: Sonoma, California.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 6:30-8 p.m.); Sunday, race, 3:40 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 3-6 p.m.).

Track: Sonoma Raceway (road course, 2.385 miles).

Race distance: 202.73 miles, 85 laps.

Last year: Power won at the track for the third time in four years, taking advantage of Scott Dixon’s penalty for making contact with Power’s Team Penske pit crew.

Last week: Power won at the Milwaukee Mile for his third victory of the year.

Fast facts: Power leads the season standings, 39 points ahead of Penske teammate Helio Castroneves with two races left. Power won at the track in 2010 and 2011 after breaking his back in 2009 in practice at the circuit. The Australian won the season-opening event in Petersburg, Florida, and took a doubleheader race in Detroit. ... Team Penske’s Juan Pablo Montoya won a NASCAR Sprint Cup race at the track in 2007. ... The Indy Lights series is racing Saturday and Sunday (NBC Sports Network, Sunday, 6-7 p.m.).

Next race: MAVTV 500, Aug. 30, Auto Club Speedway, Fontana, California.


Formula One


Site: Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 7-8:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (CNBC, 7-8:30 a.m., NBC Sports Network, 11:30-1 p.m.); Sunday, race, 7 a.m. (NBC Sports Network, 6:30-9:30 a.m.).

Track: Spa-Francorchamps (road course, 4.35 miles).

Race distance: 191.415 miles, 44 laps.

Last year: Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel raced to the fifth of his 13 2013 victories en route to his fourth straight season title. He’s winless this season.

Last race: Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo won the Hungarian Grand Prix on July 27 for his second victory of the season.

Fast facts: Nico Rosberg leads the standings, 11 points ahead of Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton after 11 of 19 races. Rosberg has four victories, and Hamilton five. Ricciardo is third in the standings, 71 points behind Rosberg. ... The course is the longest in F1. ... Sixteen-year-old Dutchman Max Verstappen is set to drive for Toro Rosso next season, putting him in position to become the youngest driver in F1 history. He’s the son of former driver Jos Verstappen.

Next race: Italian Grand Prix, Sept 7, Autodromo di Monza, Monza, Italy.


NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing

Next event: U.S. Nationals, Aug. 27-Sept. 1, Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, Clermont, Indiana.

Last week: Morgan Lucas won the Top Fuel final in Brainerd, Minnesota, beating series leader Doug Kalitta. The Funny Car final between John Force and Ron Capps, and the Pro Stock semifinals and final were postponed because of darkness after a series of rain delays. They will be run at the U.S. Nationals.