NEW ORLEANS - The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, announced its 10 finalists for this year’s award Wednesday. The winner will be announced after the bowls in January and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates’ bowl performances into consideration in its balloting.

The finalists for this year’s Manning Award are Matt Barkley, USC; Kirk Cousins, Michigan State; Robert Griffin III, Baylor; Landry Jones, Oklahoma; Case Keenum, Houston; Andrew Luck, Stanford; Kellen Moore, Boise State; Brandon Weeden, Oklahoma State; Russell Wilson, Wisconsin and Tyler Wilson, Arkansas.

While the statistics for the group are exemplary, they have a combined winning percentage of .862 with an overall record of 100-16. The finalists average over 3,500 passing yards and 32 touchdowns total with an average of seven interceptions each. Eight of the players come from 10-win programs with the other two in range of winning 10 games by the end of the bowl season.

“It’s been a tremendous year for quarterbacks once again, but when it came down to voting for our top 10, we realized how many great quarterbacks there have been this season,” Archie Manning said. “We have a strong group of 10 finalists, but there is another sizable group of players that didn’t make the list that were very deserving as well. It’s going to be fun to watch our finalists play some of their biggest games of the season to see who will really stand out and win this honor.”

The winner is scheduled to be announced Jan. 18.