NATCHITOCHES — Advocate sportswriters Scott Hotard and Robin Fambrough earned two of the major awards handed out by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association on Sunday as the organization held its annual awards brunch.

Hotard won Story of the Year for 2010 and Fambrough took Prep Writer of the Year honors in Class I, which is for newspapers with a circulation of 40,000 and up.

Hotard’s story on former Thibodaux High School football star Trovon Reed and the loss of his mother during the recruiting process in the fall of 2009 and spring of 2010, took first place in Prep Features in Class I.

It was then judged as best among all first-place winners in the individual categories in Class I and Class II, which is for papers with a circulation of 40,000 and below.

Fambrough submitted three stories that were judged as a unit to determine the Prep Writer of the Year for 2010.

Lake Charles American Press sports editor Scooter Hobbs claimed Sportswriter of the Year honors for accumulating the most points in 14 regular writing categories in the annual contest.

Hobbs finished with 10 points with points being awarded on a 3-2-1 basis for first- through third-place finishes. He had three firsts and one third in this year’s competition.

In newspaper sweepstakes, the New Orleans Times-Picayune took top honors in Class I and the Lafayette Daily Advertiser won in Class II. The Times-Picayune also won Best Section, another major award, in Class I.

Sports editors, copy editors, writers and photographers from across the country judged the competition, which drew more than 1,000 entries from 10 newspapers and other online publications.

The brunch capped LSWA’s annual two-day convention, which for the third straight year was held in conjunction with the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremonies.

The LSWA is the sponsoring organization of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, which inducted eight new members Saturday night in the Natchitoches Events Center.

Former LSU baseball star and 12-year major-league veteran Todd Walker and former LSU Athletic Director T.P. “Skipper” Heard were among this year’s inductees along with former New Orleans Saints stars Morten Andersen, Vaughan Johnson and Buford Jordan.