Jeff Powell won the championship flight of the recent Pelican Point MGA par-3 golf event.

Ryan Schulz was second, followed by Jay Leblanc and Scott Waguespack.

Jason Ambeau won the first flight, followed by Davis Burch, Russell Williams and Jared Mullins.

Youth golf

MORSE WINS TITLE: Trey Morse of New Orleans fired a 156 to win the 12-14-year-old boys division at the Crescent City Classic golf tournament June 14-15 at Stonebridge Golf Club.

Roberto Espinosa of Arnaudville (178) finished second in the divsion, holding off Damon Gibson of New Orleans by a stroke in the 36-hold event.

Julia Simon of New Orleans (166) won the girls 12-14 age division.

In the boys 9-11 age division, Logan Batiste of Slidell (71) won the title, defeating St. Amant’s Peyton Canter by five strokes. Belle Chasse’s Jacob Kaliszeski (85) was third.

Caroline Covington of Denham Springs shot an 88 as the lone competitor in the girls 9-11 age group.


HUMPDAY SUMMER SERIES RACE WINNERS NAMED: Chase Jones and Annie Hill were the overall two-mile winners of the Humpday Summer Series Race No. 2 on June 18 at Perkins Road Community Park.

Jones was the male winner in 10 minutes, 36 seconds, while Hill (11:50) took the overall female title.

Tre Hendry (11:25) was the male masters winner, while Dana Smith (15:09) was the female masters winner.

Ed Stauss (13:31) was the male grandmasters winner, and Jeanie Rollins (15:59) was the female grandmasters winner.

Marco Hebert (3:13) was the male half-mile winner, while Anna Rea (3:40) was the female half-mile winner.


GUGLIEMO WINS TITLE: Anne Scott Gugliemo of Baton Rouge was the girls winner of the recent USTA Boys and Girls 10s Southern Closed West Tennis tournament at the Paula G. Manship YMCA, Lamar Tennis Center.

Sobenna Egwuekwe of Memphis, Tennessee.

The boys tournament winner was Carter Swope of Rogers, Arkansas and runner-up was Jaxon Lamb of Greeneville, Tennessee.


HIGHWAY 44 WINS CITY GONZALES CITY TITLE: Highway 44 Paint and Body completed a 14-0 regular season and defeated LeBlanc’s 14-4 in the championship game to win the the Gonzales Dixie Youth 10-year old city championship.

Team members include Josh Gautier, Max Pearce, Cooper Ancale, Bennett Lejeune, Cade Russo, Bentley Sheets, Michael Robin, Carter Volion, Ben Ragsdale, Clay Marix and Zac Pearce.

The team is coached by Mike Pearce, Mark Gauthier, Nick Wilson and Chuck Ragsdale.


STATE DOUBLES WINNERS NAMED: The team of Tim Gilmore of Bayou Vista and Ron Latiolais of Gonzales went 5-0 to win the Class A men’s title at the Louisiana State Doubles Horseshoe Pitching Championships in Welsh. Gilmore and Latiolais were also named men’s tournament champions.

The team of Al Dodson of Morgan City and Dudley Michel of Bayou Vista finished second, followed by Ricky Richard of Church Point and Alois Habetz of Sulphur.

In the Class B men’s division, Mike Ricardo of Keithville and David Reed of Weslsh defeated Ryan Fryou of Berwick and Charles Savoy of Jennings in a 60-shoe playoff to win the title.

Larry Pertuit of Marrero and Mack Thibodeaux of Lake Arthur finished third.

In the Class C men’s division, A.J. Duplantier of Harahan and Bill Seither of Boothville won the title, while Steve Rotach of Minden and J.R. Morse of Shreveport finished second. Louis Gaudet of Lake Charles and Eddie Guidry of Port Allen took third.

Pat Pertuit of Marrero and Sharla Fontenot of Lacassine defeated Angela Percle of Morgan City and Bobbie Richard of Church Point in a 60-shoe playoff after the teams were tied at the end of regulation to claime the Class A women’s title. The team was also named women’s tournament champions.

Dawn Seither of River Ridge and Mary Chrismer of Harahan won the Class B women’s division, while Gaylin Habetz of Sulphur and Angela Taylor of Iowa finished second. Lisa Wray of Shreveport and Mary Woodall of Minden took third.


MUNN NAMED TO NATIONAL TEAM: Zachary High senior Dally Munn earned a spot on the Louisiana National High School rodeo team and will travel to Rock Springs, Wyoming on July 13-19 to compete in barrel racing at the National High School Finals Rodeo.