Brandon Aydlett of Metairie shot an even-par 72 Sunday to win the 24th Louisiana Golf Association Mid-Amateur Championship by one stroke over Patrick Christovich of New Orleans.

It was Aydlett’s first LGA Championship victory, and it occurred at his home club, TPC Louisiana in Avondale.

Aydlett, a former LSU golfer, finished with a 54-hole total of four-under-par 212.

Hank Shaheen of DeQuincy who shot the low round of the day on Sunday, a two-under-par 70 to finish at 214 for third place. Ben Suarez of Sulphur and Ken Buchan of Monroe tied for fourth at 218.


CASTRO, AMEDEE WIN PELICAN POINT TITLES: Paul Castro was the overall gross champion, and David Amedee was the overall net champion at the Pelican Point Senior Club championship.

Castro had the top gross score in the championship flight, while Sid Harp was second.

Jeff Powell had the top net score in the championship flight, followed by Rusty Tucker.

In the first flight, Mike Lee had the first-place gross score, followed by Ed Amedee. Don Berrigan had the first-place net score, followed by Aaron McKenna.

David Amedee had the first-place gross score in the second flight, followed by Carl Amedee. Dennis Hoshman had the first-place net score, followed by Jeff Walker.

HILL-BELL-TURNER TEAM WINS HOWELL PARK BEST BALL TOURNAMENT: The team of Lam Hill, Albert Bell, Noland Turner shot a 29 to win the Howell Park Weekly Best Ball tournament.

The team of Ed Mitchell, Jason Miller and Gregg Barthe finished second with a 30 after winning a playoff over Roy Gay, Mike Lathon and Cliff Stewart.

DUBBY WINS HOWELL PARK WEEKLY TOURNAMENT: Willie Dubby fired a 69 to win the championship flight of the Howell Park Weekly Sunday tournament.

Robbie White (70) was second, while David Hoffman (71) was third.

Youth golf

BRIGGS WINS USSSA TITLE: Beau Briggs of Covington fired a 207 to win the boys 15-18-year-old division of the Mizuno USSSA National Championship at TPC Louisiana in Avondale.

Briggs had rounds of 66, 74 and 67 to take the title over Skylar Petroski (75-77-66 — 218) of Orange, Texas. Gretna’s Nolan Lambert (71-74-74 — 219) was third, while Raymond Poche of Covington (74-72-74 — 220) was fourth.

Nicholas Arcement of Mathews (68-74-68 — 210) won the boys 12-14 age group. Brandon Rogillio Jr. of Baton Rouge (78-75-70 — 223) was third, while Trey Morse of New Orleans (76-72-80 — 228) and Chance Queen of Alexandria (76-80-72 — 228) tied for fourth.

Luke Haskew of Shreveport (35-39-37 — 111) won the boys 9-11 age group, followed by Lafayette’s Canon Clark (38-37-38 — 113) and Kale Fontenot (43-37-37 — 117).

Brooke Duzan of Sulphur defeated Camille Simon of New Orleans in a sudden death playoff to win the girls 15-18 division.

Duzan had rounds of 79, 77 and 70 for a 226, while Simon shot 77, 74 and 75.

Julia Simon of New Orleans (77-79-75 — 231) won the girls 12-14 age division, followed by Reiley Heaslip of Baton Rouge (84-76-77 — 237).

Liza Lapeyre of New Orleans (43-51-44 — 138) won the girls 9-11 age division.


LAVARINE WINS TITLE: Metairie’s Alexis Lavarine scored a major decision victory over Helene Vasquez of Arizona to win the 13-14 year-old division of the Ringside World Boxing Championships on Saturday in Independence, Missouri.

Laverne, 12, earned TKO stoppages over Shawna Udhe (Kalispell, Mont.) and Sara Olson (Kansas) to reach the finals and secure her sixth championship belt (two world, four national).

Lavarine (12-2) is a seventh-grader at T.H. Harris Middle School.


TWO LOUISIANA PITCHERS PLACE IN WORLD TOURNAMENT: Al Dodson of Morgan City took third place in the Elders Class G1 at the National Horseshoe Pitchers Association’s World tournament at The Kansas Expocentre in Topeka, Kansas.

Patricia Pertuit of Marrero finished second in Women’s Class C.

GILMORE WINS TOURNAMENT TITLE: Tim Gilmore of Bayou Vista went 5-0 to win the Class A and overall championship at the Louisiana Open Horseshoe tournament last weekend at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Dudley Michel of Bayou Vista was second in Class A, while Pat Pertuit of Marrero finished third.

Edie Corso of Destrehan went 5-0 to win the Class B title, while Clyde Landry of Pierre Part was second. Al Dodson of Morgan City was third.

In Class C, Kevin Dore’ Sr. of Patterson took first place, followed by Mary Begnaud of Lacassine and Dale Pearce of Bayou Vista.

Nancy Woods of Monroe won the Class D title, while Mike Ricardo of Keithville was second and Burnie Williams of Morgan City third.

Roy Wille of Harahan won the Class E title, while Berwick’s Ryan Fryou finished second. Larry Pertuit of Marrero was third.

Berwick’s Tim Hayles won the Class F title, followed by Jamie Granger of Morgan City and Todd Price of Houma.

Gary Verheide of Harahan defeated Julius Lovell of Bayou L’Ourse in a 40-shoe playoff to win the Class G title. Amanda McMullen of Bastrop was third.

In Class H, Tina Stanley of Monroe defeated Gemma Martin and Hilton Rhodes in a pair of 40-shoe playoffs to win the title.

Rhodes finished second, while Martin was third.