The LSU lacrosse team picked up it’s sixth win of the season with an 18-9 victory over Louisiana-Lafayette on Saturday in Lafayette.

The loss dropped the Cajuns to 6-4 on the season.

LSU was led in scoring by Austin Melson’s six goals and three assists. Sophomore Kett Lobrano added four goals.

LSU (6-3) returns to action Saturday afternoon against Texas State (3-0). Face off at 1 p.m. at Olympia Stadium.

Youth golf

LAFAYETTE’S MOUTON WINS TOURNAMENT: Lafayette’s Cameron Mouton improved his score by 10 strokes from the first round to win the boys 15-18 age division championship in the Mizuno Luck of the Irish 2 golf tournament last weekend at the Bayou Golf Club.

Mouton won the tournament and his first USSSA title competing in the second-to-last pairing, shooting a 164 (87-77) during the two-day, 36-hole event. Nick Grabowski of Alexandria was three strokes behind in second, while Lafayette’s Harrison John was eight back in third place.

In the boys 12-14 age division, Baton Rouge’s Ryan Dupuy was third, finishing five strokes behind winner Chance Queen of Alexandria (151). Payne Johnson of Shreveport was three shots behind in second.

Kaitlyn Montoya of Shreveport (192) won the girls 12-14 tournament for her first USSSA title. Carly Tietje Whittington of Kinder (198) was second, and Marta Bollinger of Alexandria (258) was third.

Men’s golf

SCHEXNAYDRE-WAGUESPACK TAKE TOURNAMENT: The team of Guy Schexnaydre and Scott Waguespack were the shootout champions in the Pelican Point Men’s Golf Association Round Robin tournament.

Jay Leblanc and Richard Young won the first flight, followed by DJ Johnson and Sam Lavigne. Mike Waguespack and Wayne Silva were third.

Jeff Powell and Keith Albert took the second flight, followed by Cameron Thoroughman and Wes Merrifield. The team of Pat Matherne and Steve Ryan was third.

Scott Waguespack and Schexnaydre won the third flight, while David Burch and Keith Falgoust were second. Russell Williams and Hubby Lavigne finished third.

The fourth flight went to Steve Martin and Ricky Carter. John Capone and Kirk Pastorick finished second, and Keith Harrison and Brian Harrison were third.

Mike Strong and Frankie Schmitt took the fifth flight, followed by Ronnie Walker and Glenn Schexnayder. Ken Cook and Gordon Stephen were third.

Women’s golf

BOURQUE-PEARSON TEAM WINS TOURNAMENT: Aaron Bourque and Diane Pearson won the Pelican Point Ladies Golf Association St. Patrick’s Day Scramble.

Robbie Cliburn and Jana O’Banion finished second, followed by Maria Fairchild and Saundra Robert. Karen Snell and Gloria Kyler took fourth, while Maria Fairchild and Sandy Riley were fifth.

Riley had the longest drive, and Pearson the most accurate drive. Closest-to-the-pin winners were: Alice Pierson), Snell, Bourque and Madelyn King.