The team of Malcom Dugas and Paul Castro were the overall gross champions and Richard Young and Keith Bruner finished as the overall net champions of the Pelican Point MGA Super Bowl Scramble on Saturday.

Chester Campbell and Jared Mullins were the second-place net finishers, followed by the teams of Joe O’Banion and Bryan Haymon, Pete Robbins and Pegram Mire, Ed Amedee and Frankie Schmitt and Jimmy Wilson and Dino Viera.

The team of Larry Templet and Randy Stevens had the second-place gross score, followed by Chad Braud and Sid Harp.

WALL-LaRUE TEAM WINS GAL AND PAL EVENT: The team of Kelly Wall and Emily LaRue shot a 63 to win the championship flight of the EWGA Dumas Gal and Pal scramble held Saturday at Dumas Golf Club.

The format was an 18-hole scramble couples tournament.

Jason Miller and Tina Griffin shot a 68 and won playoff for second place in the championship flight over Jack Terry and Izumi Craig.

Ed Mitchell and Sherrie Sizemore (69) finished fourth, while Henry Pointer and Karen Toney (70) finished fifth. Robert and Carol Wheeler (71) finished sixth, followed by Greg Crowell and Suzanne Seefield (73).

In the legends flight, the teams of Thomas and Thelma Price, Gilles and Carla Morin and Kurt and Jodi Weilbacher each fired 81s.

The Prices won a playoff over the Morins to take first place, while the Morins defeated the Weilbachers in a playoff for second place.

Ryan and Brett Kyle shot an 82 and won a playoff for fourth place over John Brown and Ginger Vann.

Clay Smith and Ellen Motichek (84) finished sixth, followed by Rick Carpenter and Jamie Moak.

HODGESON WINS TOURNAMENT AT PELICAN POINT: John Hodgeson fired a 68 to win the championship flight of the recent SMGA Low Net tournament at Pelican Point Golf Club.

Pat Matherne and Curtis Davis (71) tied for second in the championship flight, followed by Jim Tinney (73).

Doug Rhodes (71) won the first flight, while Kenny Riley and Kenny Doucet (75) tied for second. Curtis Bailey (76) was fourth.

CARUSO AMONG USSSA GOLF WINNERS: Carson Caruso of Greenwell Springs fired a 160 to pick up the win in the boys 12-14 age group at the Mizuno USSSA President’s Cup at the Island Golf Club.

Roberto Espinosa of Arnaudville (173) was second in the division, while Ty Martin of Lafayette (188) finished third.

Ryan Dupuy shot an 80 to win the 18-hole boys 9-11 championship, while Kale Fontenot of Lafayette (85) second place. Canon Clark of Lafayette (88) was third.

The only girl in the field, Caroline Covington of Denham Springs, shot 55 in the first round of the 9-11 age group before withdrawing from the tournament.

Colton Ryan of Benton shot a 153 to win the boys 15-18 division championship.

Stewart Perilloux of Zachary (159) took second place, while Cameron Little (160) was third.

McGOWN LEADS THE WAY: Tracy McGown fired an 82 for the low gross score in the first flight of the Bayou St. John Ladies January Golf tournament held on the North Course at City Park on Jan. 28.

Also in the first flight, Judy Nichols (63) had the first low net, and Sandy Hernandez (64) had the second low net.

In the second flight, Charlene Tregre had the low gross score of 96.

Jean Deckert (69) had the first low net, while Gay Downey (72) had the second low net.

JoEllen Cowden was closest to the hole on No. 15.


Results of recreational, competitive or age-group sports can be sent via email to or by fax to (225) 388-0318.

Call (225) 383-1111 to confirm receipt.

Results may be dropped off at The Advocate, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd. (marked WEEKLY WRAPUP).

Information must be received by noon the Monday following the event.

Include as much information as possible, and provide first names. Also list the work and home phone numbers of the person providing the results in case more information is needed