Looking for a favorite in next week’s Zurich Classic of New Orleans? You’ll have plenty to choose from.

The tournament released its final field of 156 players Friday for the tournament, which runs Thursday through April 26 at TPC Louisiana in Avondale.

The field includes nine former Zurich Classic champions, eight major championship winners and three players ranked in the world top 10.

Topping the list is Australian Jason Day, ranked No. 5 in the world. He’s followed closely by American Dustin Johnson at No. 6 and No. 8 Justin Rose, the 2013 U.S. Open champion.

Based on their recent play, Johnson and Rose could be considered early favorites in this year’s Zurich field.

Except for a missed cut in the Honda Classic, Johnson hasn’t finished out of the top six in his past six events, including a win in the WGC-Cadillac Championship and a tie for sixth at the Masters.

Rose was co-runner up last week at the Masters with Phil Mickelson, four strokes back of Jordan Spieth. They tied at 14-under-par, a score that would have won 70 of the previous 78 Masters.

Two other top-20 players are also entered: No. 13 Rickie Fowler and No. 19 Billy Horschel, the 2013 Zurich Classic champion who went on to capture last season’s FedEx Cup title.

Seung-Yul Noh of South Korea is back to defend his title, his first won on the PGA Tour. Other former Zurich champions in the field include former LSU All-American and 2001 PGA champion David Toms (2001), Jason Bohn (2010), K.J. Choi (2002), Jerry Kelly (2009), Andres Romero (2008), three-time major champion Vijay Singh (2004) and Nick Watney (2007).

Other former major champions set to compete are 2011 PGA champion Keegan Bradley, 2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover, two-time U.S. Open winner Retief Goosen, 1997 British Open champion Justin Leonard and 2003 Masters winner Mike Weir.

In addition to Toms, other former LSU players in the field include 2011 NCAA individual champion John Peterson, former Episcopal star Andrew Loupe and Curtis Thompson.

Thompson, the older brother of LPGA major winner Lexi Thompson, and Loupe are in the field on sponsor’s exemptions.

Baton Rouge native Heath Slocum is also entered, as is former Tulane golfer Michael Thompson.

Another prominent entry is Troy Merritt, who shot a 10-under 61 Friday and leads by four strokes midway through the RBC Heritage this week in Hilton Head Island, South Carolina. John Merrick, another Zurich participant, is tied for second with defending RBC Heritage champion Matt Kuchar.

Tickets are $25 each day of the tournament and $75 for the week. The first two rounds will be televised by the Golf Channel; the final two rounds are on CBS.

Zurich Classic of New Orleans

Final entry list

Blake Adams

Joe Affrunti

Steven Aiker

Robert Allenby

Mark Anderson

Woody Austin

Eric Axley

Aaron Baddeley

Sangmoon Bae

Blayne Barber

Ricky Barnes

Charlie Beljan

Daniel Berger

Zac Blair

Jonas Blixt

Jason Bohn

Steven Bowdich

Keegan Bradley

Scott Brown

Chad Campbell

Alex Cejka

Kevin Chappell

K.J. Choi

Chad Collins

Erik Compton

Ben Crane

Jon Curran

Brian Davis

Jason Day

Brendon de Jonge

Chris DiMarco

Jamie Donaldson

Ken Duke

Harris English

Derek Ernst

Derek Fathauer

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano

Toni Finau

Martin Flores

Rickie Fowler

Oscar Fraustro

Tommy Gainey

Scott Gardiner

Brice Garnett

Robert Garrigus

Lucas Glover

Fabian Gomez

Andres Gonzales

Retief Goosen

Jasno Gore

Branden Grace

Luke Guthrie

Chesson Hadley

Adam Hadwin

Dudley Hart

David Hearn

J.J. Henry

Jim Herman

Morgan Hoffman

Tom Hoge

Max Homa

Billy Horschel

Charles Howell III

Mark Hubbard

John Huh

Ryo Ishikawa

Freddie Jacobson

Dustin Johnson

Jerry Kelly

Whee Kim

Kevin Kisner

Colt Knost

Russell Knox

Martin Laird

Neil Lancaster

Scott Langley

D.H. Lee

Danny Lee

Marc Lieshman

Justin Leonard

Spencer Levin

David Lingmerth

Andrew Loupe

Bill Lunde

Jarrod Lyle

Will MacKenzie

William McGirt

George McNeill

John Merrick

Troy Merritt

Bryce Molder

Jake Narro

Seung-Yul Noh

Sean O’Hair

Carlos Ortiz

Jeff Overton

Greg Owen

S.J. Park

Cameron Percy

John Peterson

Carl Pettersson

Scott Piercy

Scott Pinckney

D.A. Points

Alex Prugh

Andrew Putnam

Michael Putnam

Jonathan Randolph

Chez Reavie

Kyle Reifers

Jim Renner

Andres Romero

Justin Rose

Carlos Sainz Jr.

Sam Saunders

John Senden

Vijay Singh

Rogar Sloan

Heath Slocum

Byron Smith

Cameron Smith

Scott Stallings

Brendan Steele

Richard Sterne

Robert Streb

Steve Stricker

Chris Stroud

Brian Stuard

Zach Sucher

Andrew Svoboda

Hudson Swofford

Nick Taylor

Justin Thomas

Curtis Thompson

Michael Thompson

Nicholas Thompson

David Toms

Cameron Tringale

Tyrone Van Aswegen

Bo Van Pelt

Jhonattan Vegas

Camilo Villegas

Marc Warren

Nick Watney

Boo Weekley

Mike Weir

Steve Wheatcroft

Bernd Wiesberger

Tim Wilkinson

Mark Wilson


Johnson Wagner

Will Wilcox

Greg Chalmers

Jonathan Byrd

Ben Curtis

Charlie Wi

Trevor Immelman

Roberto Castro

Josh Teater

Brandt Jobe