Donnie Chatelain and Dante Caldera won the annual Harry Neese golf tournament over the weekend at City Park Golf Course.

In memory of Bobby Duhe, the Friends of City Park presented to each of the winners the Green Jacket Award, consisting of a two-night stay at the Historic Eola Hotel in Natchez, Mississippi, coupled with a complimentary round of golf at Duncan Park Golf Course near downtown Natchez.

FONTENOT WINS USSSA GOLF EVENT: Kale Fontenot of Lafayette defeated Owen Hayden of Bogalusa on the first hole of a playoff to take the boys 9-11 age division title at the Mizuno Junior Mike’ Open as part of the Louisiana USSSA Golf Tour recently at Farm d’Allie Golf Club in Carencro. Both golfers finished at 79 in the 18-hole event to force the playoff. Payton Canter of St. Amant and Jace LeJeune of Jennings (84) tied for third.

Cassidy Lambert of Gretna won the girls 9-11 age group. Lambert shot a 90 to win the title, while Caroline Covington of Denham Springs (104) was second.

Nicholas Arcemont of Mathews fired a 157 to win the boys 12-14 age group, followed by Carson Caruso of Greenwell Springs (160) and Karan Patel of Alexandria (167).

Charlie Flynn of Alexandria captured his second striaght tour title in winnings the boys 15-18 division title with a playoff victory over Tristan Fruge of Crowley. Both golfers finished regulation at 154 before Flynn parred and Fruge bogeyed the playoff hole. Tucker Landry of Napoleonville finished three strokes back for third place.

In the girls 15-18 division, reigning national champion Brooke Duzan shot a 165 for the title, holding off Emily Lucas of Crowley by a stroke. Cassidy Goff of Crowley finished three strokes back for third.


STATE SINGLES CHAMPIONS CROWNED: Ricky Richard of Church Point went 5-0 to claim the Class A men’s title at the Louisiana State Horseshoe Pitching Championships on Saturday at Kemper Williams Park in Patterson.

Jimmy Percle of Morgan City finished second, followed by Alois Habetz of Lake Charles.

Angela Percle of Morgan City won the Class A women’s title after defeating Pat Pertuit of Marerro in a 40-shoe playoff. Edie Corso of Destrehan was third.

In the Class A elders division, Tim Gilmore of Bayou Vista took the title, followed by Buddy Townsend of West Monroe and Ron Latiolais of Gonzales.

David Reed of Welsh won the Class B men’s title, followed by Clyde Landry of Pierre Part and Jack Caudle of Shreveport.

The Class C men’s title went to Gerald Prados of Centerville, while Clay Canty of Morgan City finished second, and Bill King of West Monroe was third.

Mike Ricardo of Keithville won the Class D men’s title, followed by Larry Pertuit of Marrero and A.J. Duplantier of Harahan.

Roosevelt Morse of Shreveport won Class E men’s title after defeating Randy Giroir and Tanner Pousson in a pair of 40-shoe playoff games after the trio tied in regulation. Pousson, of Lacassine, finished second, while Giroir was third.

Shreveport’s James Breedlove won the Class F men’s title, followed by Artie McMullen of Monroe and Ron Smith of Lake Charles.

The Class B women’s title went to Nancy Woods of Monroe, while Mary Begnaud of Lacassine was second and Gaylin Habetz of Lake Charles was third.

Tracy Verret of Bayou Vista captured the women’s Class C title, followed by Cheryl Matt of Lake Charles and Jamie Granger of Morgan City.

Sebastian Langley of Lacassine won the juniors title, followed by Mikel-Ann Ricardo of Keithville and Justin Habetz of Lake Charles.


Results of recreational, competitive or age-group sports can be sent via email to or by fax to (225) 388-0318.

Call (225) 383-1111 to confirm receipt.

Results may be dropped off at The Advocate, 7290 Bluebonnet Blvd. (marked WEEKLY WRAPUP).

Information must be received by noon the Monday following the event.

Include as much information as possible, and provide first names. Also list the work and home phone numbers of the person providing the results in case more information is needed.