BCS Championship Game history

Jan. 7, 2013: No. 2 Alabama 42, No. 1 Notre Dame 14

Site: Sun Life Stadium, Miami

BRIEFLY: The unbeaten Irish offer no resistance to the Crimson Tide as Eddie Lacy rushes for 140 yards and AJ McCarron throws for four TDs.

Jan. 9, 2012: No. 2 Alabama 21, No. 1 LSU 0

SITE: Mercedes-Benz Superdome

BRIEFLY: The Tide spoils the Tigers’ perfect season by avenging LSU’s “Game of the Century” win at Tuscaloosa in November.

Jan. 10, 2011: No. 1 Auburn 22, No. 2 Oregon 19

SITE: University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Ariz.

BRIEFLY: Michael Dyer keeps churning on a 37-yard run when he first appears down to set up Wes Byrum’s 19-yard game-winning kick as time expires.

Jan. 7, 2010: No. 1 Alabama 37, No. 2 Texas 21

SITE: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.

BRIEFLY: The Crimson Tide knocks Texas QB Colt McCoy out early and holds on late with two scores in the final six minutes.

Jan. 8, 2009: No. 2 Florida 24, No. 1 Oklahoma 14

SITE: Sun Life Stadium, Miami

BRIEFLY: Tim Tebow outduels Sam Bradford as the Gators win a sloppy, choppy championship game to capture their second BCS title.

Jan. 7, 2008: No. 2 LSU 38, No. 1 Ohio State 24

SITE: Louisiana Superdome

BRIEFLY: The Tigers fall behind 10-0 early but thunder past the Buckeyes on Matt Flynn’s four touchdown passes.

Jan. 8, 2007: No. 2 Florida 41, No. 1 Ohio State 14

SITE: University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Ariz.

BRIEFLY: In the first BCS title game, the Gators spot the Buckeyes a Ted Ginn Jr. kickoff return TD, then bury them with a Chris Leak-led avalanche.

Jan. 4, 2006, Rose Bowl: No. 2 Texas 41, No. 1 Southern California 38

SITE: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.

BRIEFLY: A game that produces more than 1,100 yards of offense is decided on Vince Young’s 8-yard keeper for a touchdown with 19 seconds left.

Jan. 4, 2005, Orange Bowl: No. 1 Southern California 55, No. 2 Oklahoma 14

SITE: Dolphins Stadium, Miami

BRIEFLY: The Trojans and Sooners are ranked 1-2 all season but, after Matt Leinart throws four of his five TD passes in the first half, there’s no doubt who’s No. 1.

Jan. 4, 2004, Sugar Bowl: No. 2 LSU 21, No. 1 Oklahoma 14

SITE: Louisiana Superdome

BRIEFLY: The Tigers capture their first national title since 1958 by holding off an Oklahoma team laden with national award winners.

Jan. 3, 2003, Fiesta Bowl: No. 2 Ohio State 31, No. 1 Miami 24 (2OT)

SITE: Sun Devil Stadium, Tempe, Ariz.

BRIEFLY: It’s still the only BCS title game to go to overtime, but this contest is remembered for the pass interference penalty that allowed the Buckeyes to force a second OT.

Jan. 3, 2002, Rose Bowl: No. 1 Miami 37, No. 2 Nebraska 14

SITE: Rose Bowl, Pasadena, Calif.

BRIEFLY: LSU’s SEC Championship Game upset of Tennessee puts Nebraska in the title game, but the Hurricanes show the Cornhuskers don’t belong by racing to a 34-0 halftime lead.

Jan. 3, 2001, Orange Bowl: No. 1 Oklahoma 13, No. 2 Florida State 2

SITE: Pro Player Stadium, Miami

BRIEFLY: Oddsmakers say the Sooners are a double-digit underdog, but their defense proves otherwise while holding the Seminoles offense scoreless.

Jan. 4, 2000, Sugar Bowl: No. 1 Florida State 46, No. 2 Virginia Tech 29

SITE: Louisiana Superdome

BRIEFLY: Hokies QB Michael Vick dazzles as his team rolls up 503 total yards, but Peter Warrick’s three TDs (two receiving, one punt return) keep Tech at arm’s length.

Jan. 4, 1999, Fiesta Bowl: No. 1 Tennessee 23, No. 2 Florida State 16

SITE: Sun Devil Stadium, Tempe, Ariz.

BRIEFLY: Peerless Price’s 199 receiving yards help the Volunteers finish peerless at 13-0 for their first national title since 1951.

Best of the best

Best game: 2006 Rose Bowl [Texas 41, USC 38]

Texas quarterback Vince Young was bitterly disappointed to lose out on the Heisman Trophy to USC running back Reggie Bush. With his team facing fourth-and-5 at the Trojans’ 8 with under a minute left, Young exacted the ultimate revenge.He dashed right and into the end zone with 19 seconds left, capping a rally from a 12-point deficit in the final seven minutes as part of a wild 32-point fourth quarter that lifted the Longhorns to their first national title since 1970.

The teams combined for more than 1,100 yards of total offense, with Young throwing for 267 and rushing for 200 while USC QB Matt Leinart threw for 365 yards and a TD.

Most controversial finish: 2003 Fiesta Bowl

They called Ohio State the “Luckeyes” for all the close victories they had during the 2002 season — six games decided by seven points or fewer. The championship game against Miami topped the list.

With his team trailing the Hurricanes 24-17 in the first overtime, Craig Krenzel’s pass for Chris Gamble on fourth-and-3 at the Miami 5 fell incomplete in the end zone. But after a couple of long seconds, field judge Terry Porter threw a flag on Miami’s Glenn Sharpe for pass interference.

Krenzel went on to score on a 1-yard keeper before the Buckeyes won 31-24 in the second overtime.

Most controversial matchup: 2004 [LSU 21, Okla. 14]

Oklahoma was the clear-cut No. 1 throughout the 2003 season, building such a huge lead in the BCS computers that not even a 35-7 rout by Kansas State in the Big 12 title game kept the Sooners out of the Sugar Bowl.

That left 12-1 LSU and 11-1 USC to vie for the second spot, a matter not decided until Boise State’s 45-28 win over Hawaii in the final game of the regular season. USC beat Hawaii 61-32 earlier in 2003, so Hawaii’s loss added an extra 0.20 to USC’s BCS point total. In the final standings, LSU was No. 2 with a 5.99 score, while USC was at 6.15 (lowest score being best).

The result didn’t satisfy many Associated Press poll voters, who picked USC No. 1 after the Trojans beat Michigan 28-14 in the Rose Bowl. LSU was the automatic No. 1 in the USA Today coaches’ poll. It remains the only split national championship during the BCS era.

Biggest defensive TD: LSU’s Marcus Spears [2004]

The LSU defensive end was feared as a pass rusher, so Spears caught Oklahoma’s Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Jason White unaware when he dropped back into coverage and waited in space for White to throw. When he did, Spears snared the pass and rumbled 20 yards for the touchdown and a 21-7 lead just two plays into the third quarter.

The Sooners scored a second touchdown with 11 minutes left but could come no closer, making Spears’ score hold up as the margin of the 21-14 victory.

Best promise: Tim Tebow, Florida [2009]

Following a stunning 31-30 loss to Ole Miss earlier in the 2008 season, Tebow made a tearful postgame vow: “I promise you one thing. A lot of good will come out of this. You will never see any player in the entire country play as hard as I will play the rest of the season. You will never see someone push the rest of the team as hard as I will push everybody the rest of the season. You will never see a team play harder than we will the rest of the season.”

Tebow’s words were hardly like Joe Namath’s guarantee that the New York Jets would win Super Bowl III, but they were prophetic. The Gators didn’t lose again, taking the measure of an unbeaten Alabama team in the 2008 SEC Championship Game before turning back Oklahoma for the BCS title in Miami, Florida’s second in three years.