The 16-man list includes running back Warrick Dunn, a Baton Rouge native who played with the Tampa Bay Bucs and Atlanta Falcons, and cornerback Patrick Surtain, a New Orleans native who played for the Miami Dolphins and Kansas City Chiefs.

A former Catholic High star, Dunn carved out a solid 12-year career with the Bucs and Falcons. He rushed for 10,967 yards, which ranks 19th on the all-time list, and had 49 rushing touchdowns.

Dunn also caught 510 passes for 4,339 yards and 15 touchdowns, giving him 15,306 total yards from scrimmage and 64 TDs for his career.

Surtain, an Edna Karr graduate, played 11 seasons for the Dolphins and Chiefs. He had 37 interceptions, 71/2 sacks and eight fumble recoveries in starting 131 of 163 games.

Other players with Louisiana ties on the full list of 126 nominees to be considered are defensive backs Aeneas Williams (Southern), Albert Lewis (Grambling), Everson Walls (Grambling) and Eric Allen (Saints); linebacker Sam Mills (Saints); kicker Morten Andersen (Saints); and kick returner Brian Mitchell (UL-Lafayette).

Williams has been a finalist for the past two years, but did not receive the votes needed to be enshrined in the Canton, Ohio, hall.

Former LSU coach Bill Arnsparger, a long-time NFL assistant, is on the list of coaches along with Buddy Parker (former Centenary coach), Richie Petitbon (New Orleans native/Tulane) and Clark Shaughnessy (former Tulane coach).

From the list of 126 nominees, the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee will choose 25 candidates as semifinalists to be announced in late November. The list will then be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists, which will be announced in January.

The Class of 2014 will be selected from the list of the 15 modern-era finalists plus two senior nominees — punter Ray Guy and defensive end Claude Humphrey — selected by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee.

Voting for the Class of 2014 will be conducted at the Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting to be held in New York City on Saturday, Feb. 1 — the day before Super Bowl XLVIII.

Between four and seven new members will be chosen, which will be announced that evening.


Modern-Era Nominees for the Class of 2014

First-year Eligible Nominees

Quarterback — Trent Green

Running backs — Shaun Alexander, Warrick Dunn

Wide receiver — Marvin Harrison

Offensive linemen — Willie Anderson, Walter Jones

Linebackers — Derrick Brooks, Tedy Bruschi, Willie McGinest, Zach Thomas

Defensive backs — Rodney Harrison, Sam Madison, Patrick Surtain

Coaches — Tony Dungy, Jon Gruden, Mike Holmgren

Additional Nominees

Quarterbacks — Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Doug Flutie, Steve McNair, Phil Simms

Running backs — Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Dave Meggett, Eric Metcalf, Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters

Wide receivers — *Tim Brown, Gary Clark, Mark Clayton, Henry Ellard, Keyshawn Johnson, Keenan McCardell, *Andre Reed, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith

Tight end — Mark Bavaro

Offensive linemen — Tony Boselli, Lomas Brown, Jim Covert, Jay Hilgenberg, Chris Hinton, Kent Hull, Joe Jacoby, Mike Kenn, Jim Lachey, Don Mosebar, Tom Nalen, Nate Newton, *Will Shields, Steve Wisniewski

Defensive linemen — Jerome Brown, *Charles Haley, Ed “Too Tall” Jones, Dexter Manley, Charles Mann, Steve McMichael, Fred Smerlas, *Michael Strahan, Ted Washington, Bryant Young

Linebackers — Cornelius Bennett, *Kevin Greene, Ken Harvey, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Darryl Talley

Defensive backs — Eric Allen, Steve Atwater, Joey Browner, LeRoy Butler, Albert Lewis, John Lynch, Troy Vincent, Everson Walls, *Aeneas Williams, Darren Woodson

Kickers/punter — Morten Andersen, Gary Anderson, Sean Landeta, Nick Lowery

Special teams — Brian Mitchell, Steve Tasker

Coaches — Bill Arnsparger, Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil

Contributors — K. S. “Bud” Adams, Jr., Bobby Beathard, Gil Brandt, Leo Carlin, Red Cashion, Jack Kent Cooke, Otho Davis, *Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Ron Gibbs, Jerry Jones, Eddie Kotal, Robert Kraft, Elmer Layden, Art McNally, *Art Modell, Bill Polian, Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue, Jim Tunney, Ron Wolf, George Young

* indicates 2013 finalist