The big question now is whether the Baton Rouge metro area’s top volleyball teams can get to where they want to be: the Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s State Volleyball Tournament set for Nov. 10-12 at Kenner’s Pontchartrain Center.

“I thought we’d be No. 3,” Johnson said. “The thing that impresses me was where the other teams in our district are.

“St. Thomas Aquinas is sixth, and Episcopal’s right there at No. 8. And if we win, we’ll play St. Thomas again. We’d both love to meet in a later round, but when teams in a district do well, this is what happens.”

Johnson’s Cubs (28-8), No. 3 in Division IV-Class 2A, are the highest-seeded team from the Baton Rouge area.

The top eight teams receive first-round byes and won’t play until next week’s regional round.

Teams have until Thursday to complete the first round. Most regional contests will be Monday. St. Amant (33-5), of Division I-5A, and Parkview Baptist, of Division III-3A, both garnered No. 4 seeds.

“I knew we were going to be No. 4,” St. Amant coach Allison Leake said. “We’ve been at No. 4 for a while, and when you’re locked in with quality teams, it’s hard to move up.

“But that’s fine. Sure, I’d rather be on the opposite side of the bracket from the No. 1 team, Fontainebleau. But we’re not in a bad place. After Fontainebleau, I feel like there are five or six other teams, including my team, who are very good.”

Leake said she believes her team’s district proved it was one of the strongest by placing four teams on the bracket. Destrehan was No. 3, while East Ascension (14th) and Dutchtown (16th) host teams from the other local district in the first round. Dutchtown hosts No. 17 Woodlawn, while EAHS hosts No. 19 Denham Springs.

Parkview Baptist coach Becky Madden also was not surprised by her team’s placement in Division III-3A.

“I feel like we’ve played a tougher schedule than some of the other teams,” Madden said. “But I think we’re where we need to be. The other teams in our district are where I expected them to be. Now we all have to go out and play.”

In Division I, St. Joseph’s Academy (sixth) also got a bye. Zachary (20th, at Barbe-Lake Charles) and Walker (23rd, at No. 10 Mandeville) travel.

Broadmoor, seeded ninth, leads the local contingent in Division II-4A and will host No. 24 South Terrebonne in the first round. St. Michael, seeded 11th, hosts No. 22 East Jefferson. No. 15 McKinley hosts No. 18 Sam Houston. Belaire (20th) travels to Central (13th) for another all-local contest.

In Division III, No. 10 West Feliciana hosts No. 23 Livonia in another all-area matchup, while No. 11 Brusly hosts No. 22 Loranger. Istrouma, seeded 17th, travels to No. 16 Cecilia.

Like UHS, St. Thomas Aquinas and Episcopal get byes in Division IV-2A. The Dunham School (17th) travels to No. 16 St. Charles Catholic, while No. 15 Redemptorist hosts No. 18 Runnels. Port Allen (21st) travels to No. 12 Sacred Heart-New Orleans.

St. John-Plaquemine, seeded seventh, is the only team with a Division V-Classes 1A and below bye. Local matchups include No. 17 Ascension Christian at No. 16 Ascension Catholic, No. 21 False River Academy at 12th-seeded Hosanna Christian, No. 20 Northside Christian at No. 13 White Castle, and No. 22 West St. John at 11th-seeded Catholic-Pointe Coupee.

Volleyball playoff pairings

Here are the Louisiana High School Athletic Association’s volleyball pairings released Monday. First round must be played by Nov. 3. Seedings listed in parentheses.

Division I-Class 5A

First round pairings

(1) Fontainebleau receives a bye

(17) Woodlawn at (16) Dutchtown

(24) Acadiana at (9) Lafayette

(8) Archbishop Chapelle receives a bye

(5) Dominican receives a bye

(21) Comeaux at (12) Covington

(20) Zachary at (13) Barbe

(4) St. Amant receives a bye

(3) Destrehan receives a bye

(19) Denham Springs at (14) East Ascension

(22) New Iberia at (11) Northshore

(6) St. Joseph’s Academy receives a bye

(7) Terrebonne receives a bye

(23) Walker at (10) Mandeville

(18) H.L. Bourgeois at (15) Slidell

(2) Mount Carmel Academy receives a bye

Division II-Class 4A

First round pairings

(1) St. Thomas More receives a bye

(17) Edna Karr at (16) Morgan City

(24) South Terrebonne at (9) Broadmoor

(8) Leesville receives a bye

(5) Assumption receives a bye

(21) Ellender at (12) Lutcher

(20) Belaire at (13) Central

(4) O.P. Walker receives a bye

(3) St. Martinville receives a bye

(19) Salmen at (14) Academy of Our Lady

(22) East Jefferson at (11) St. Michael

(6) St. Scholastica receives a bye

(7) Breaux Bridge receives a bye

(23) Grace King at (10) Belle Chasse

(18) Sam Houston at (15) McKinley

(2) Cabrini receives a bye

Division III-Class 3A

First round pairings

(1) Ursuline Academy receives a bye

(17) Istrouma at (16) Cecilia

(24) Evangel Christian at (9) Lakeshore

(8) Rayne receives a bye

(5) E.D. White Catholic receives a bye

(21) Loyola Prep at (12) Westlake

(20) DeQuincy at (13) Lusher Charter

(4) Parkview Baptist receives a bye

(3) St. Louis Catholic receives a bye

(19) Berwick at (14) Haynes Academy

(22) Loranger at (11) Brusly

(6) Teurlings Catholic receives a bye

(7) Ben Franklin receives a bye

(23) Livonia at (10) West Feliciana

(18) Iowa at (15) Xavier Prep

(2) Vandebilt Catholic receives a bye

Division IV-Class 2A

First round pairings

(1) Notre Dame receives a bye

(17) The Dunham School at (16) St. Charles Catholic

(24) St. James at (9) Northlake Christian

(8) Episcopal-BR receives a bye

(5) Catholic-New Iberia receives a bye

(21) Port Allen at (12) Sacred Heart-New Orleans

(20) West St. Mary at (13) Riverside Academy

(4) Newman receives a bye

(3) University receives a bye

(19) Pope John Paul II at (14) Thomas Jefferson

(22) Fisher at (11) Iota

(6) St. Thomas Aquinas receives a bye

(7) McGehee receives a bye

(23) Cohen at (10) John Curtis

(18) Runnels at (15) Redemptorist

(2) De La Salle receives a bye

Division V-Classes 1A, B, C

First round pairings

(1) Metairie Park Country Day

(17) Ascension Christian at Ascension Catholic

(24) South Plaquemines at (9) St. Martin’s

(8) Ascension Episcopal receives a bye

(5) Houma Christian receives a bye

(21) False River Academy at (12) Hosanna Christian

(20) Northside Christian at (13) White Castle

(4) Westminster Christian receives a bye

(3) Central Catholic-Morgan City receives a bye

(19) Ecole Classique at (14) First Baptist Christian

(22) West St. John at (11) Catholic-Pointe Coupee

(6) Archbishop Hannan receives a bye

(7) St. John-Plaquemine receives a bye

(23) Hamilton Christian at (10) Patrick Taylor

(18) Sacred Heart-Grand Coteau at (15) Delcambre

(2) Episcopal School of Acadiana