Brandon Romero makes first homer of season count as St. Thomas More KOs Neville _lowres

Advocate Photo by LEE CELANO - St. Thomas More Cougar's O'Neal Lochridge is safe at third base as Neville Tiger's Dixon Houston takes the throw in a Class 4A semifinal playoff game. Locridge was selected the Outstanding Player on the Class 4A all-state team.

After leading their teams to state titles, St. Thomas More’s O’Neal Lochridge and North DeSoto’s E.C. Delafield headline the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State teams for baseball and softball.

Lochridge was voted the Outstanding Player on the baseball squad after helping the Cougars win their second straight 4A crown. He batted .454 with 12 home runs and 53 RBIs. Lochridge, an LSU signee, played shortstop and anchored the middle of the Cougars batting order.

Delafield finished 26-1 on the mound and was voted the Outstanding Player for softball. The sophomore delivered two shutout at the LHSAA’s Fastpitch 56 state tournament as the Griffins won the 4A title. Delafield finished with 110 strikeouts in 61 innings.

Mike Thibodeaux of runner-up Teurlings Catholic was voted Coach of the Year for baseball. Thibodeaux led Teurlings to a 27-10 record. Kirk Delatte of Assumption garnered Coach of the Year in softball after leading the Mustangs to an 18-10 record and their first trip to the state tournament since 1992.

St. Michael the Archangel’s Christopher Reid was the only local player to make the 4A squad. Reid, also an LSU signee, helped lead the Warriors to the Class 4A semifinals for the second straight year by hitting .416 with 30 runs scored and 19 RBIs.

Joining Lochridge on the team was do-it-all teammate Brennan Breaux, who was the Player of the Game in the 4A final. Breaux, who made the team as an outfielder, hit .423 with 29 RBIs. As a pitcher, he had a 2.66 ERA with 68 strikeouts in 47 innings.

St. Thomas More’s Hogan Harris was also named to the team after going 6-1 on the season.

North DeSoto was also represented on the softball team by infielders Bayli Simon (.459) and Maddie Burchell (.418).

Utility selection Hayden Cantrelle (.402) and Josh Taylor (9-1) of Teurlings also made the squad. Tioga’s Dylan Coburn (10-2) and West Ouachita’s Cody Street (8-2) were the other baseball pitchers.

West Outachita’s Hunter Cory (.410) was the catcher, while teammate Zach Watson (.463) and Benton’s Cameron Horton (.405) were the other infielders.

The other outfielders were Tioga’s Tremaine Spears (.445) and Franklinton’s Josh Magee (.529).

The four remaining utility spots went to Karr’s Tyree Thompson (8-4), Neville’s Oliver Campbell (.374), Benton’s Aaron Shepard (9-3) and Franklinton’s Morgan Angelo (.375).

Cabrini junior Karli Perque (15-11), Teurlings senior Summer Ellyson (13-1) and Assumption senior Kirstyn Torres (17-6) were the other softball pitchers.

Preseason All-American Bailey Hemphill of St. Thomas More (.489) was named to the squad along with teammate Whitney Romero (13-9), who made the team as a utility player.

Assumption’s Amanda Gianelloni (.478) and West Ouachita’s Rebecca Skains (.521) rounded out the infield. The outfielders were Jenna Parker (.604), West Ouachita’s Bobbi Smith (.438) and Bastrop’s Tia Colemon (.453).

Bastrop’s Chelsea Fagan (.343), Neville’s Taiesha McDowell (.398), Vandebilt Catholic’s Nora Keehn (10-6) and Beau Chene’s Katelyn Hukins (.491) received the remaining utility spots.