For the past eight seasons and 11 of the past 12, at least one team from the Greater New Orleans area has made it to the Class 4A state championship game.

This two area teams made it to the Superdome.

The area was well represented on the Louisiana Sportswriters Association's Class 4A All-State team as well, sweeping the top three honors.

Lakeshore quarterback Chris Penton was voted Offensive Player of the Year and Warren Easton defensive back Damien Tate was selected as Defensive Player of the Year.

Lakeshore coach Craig Jones is Coach of the Year to complete the sweep.

Penton accounted for 4,106 yards and 51 touchdowns this season in leading the Titans to the title game for the first time in school history. The 6-foot, 175-pound senior threw for 3,789 yards and 43 touchdowns and rushed for 317 yards and eight touchdowns. Penton was also named quarterback on The New Orleans Advocate's All-Metro Team for Large Schools.

Tate, meanwhile, did a little of everything for Easton, starting on defense, offense and special teams.

The Tulane signee recorded 39 tackles, two tackles for loss, broke up 11 passes and intercepted five passes to help the Eagles reach the Class 4A semifinals, where they fell to eventual champion Edna Karr.

Jones guided Lakeshore to unchartered territory in the just the school's eighth year of existence. The St. Tammany Parish school recorded its first undefeated regular season, its first outright district championship and was the No. 2 seed in the state playoffs. The playoff run included one-sided wins over Pearl River (42-0), Tioga (40-19), perennial power Neville (55-24) and Rayne (33-0) before losing to Karr 48-26 in the championship game.

Eight other area players (four on offense and four on defense) made the team.

Lakeshore receiver Jacob Bernard, Penton's top target, caught 59 passes for 1,298 yards and 14 touchdowns. He also rushed for eight touchdowns and scored on a kickoff return and a punt return.

Bernard was joined at receiver by McDonogh 35's Lawrence Keys, who caught 59 passes for more than 1,000 yards and nine touchdowns.

Karr, which won its second straight Class 4A state title, had two players on offense in offensive lineman Lemar Johns and quarterback Skyler Perry, who was chosen as an athlete. Johns played center and paved the way up front for the Cougars, while Perry threw for 2,127 yards and 24 touchdowns and rushed for 815 yards and 12 touchdowns.

They were joined on the team by Karr defensive lineman Jamier Jackson, a fierce pass rusher who recorded 19 sacks, 39 total tackles, two forced fumbles, one interception and one pass breakup.

Karr and Lakeshore both had three players chosen to the team, the most of any school.

Lakeshore's third player is defensive lineman Tylan Driver.

Salmen linebacker Jeremy Hudson and McDonogh 35 defensive back Joe Foucha were the other area players selected. Foucha, Co-Defensive MVP in District 10-4A , recorded 68 tackles, forced six fumbles, recovered four (two for touchdowns) and had five interceptions.

Follow Rod Walker on Twitter, @rwalkeradvocate.