Hackberry won the Class C state softball title for the fourth straight year. And for the first time since 2001, Elizabeth reigned supreme on the baseball diamond.

Those two reigns now have led to two others. Hackberry and Elizabeth highlight the Class C All-State baseball and softball teams selected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Rolling to a 26-4 season, Elizabeth rallied behind the exploits Outstanding Player award winner Colby Lafauci. The senior finished 13-2 on the mound and also batted .441.

Junior Brianne Beard led Hackberry in a very similar way. She was 16-2 on the mound and batted .370 to pick up Outstanding Player honors on the LSWA Class C softball squad.

Downsville Charter’s Wayne Johnson was selected as the Coach of the Year for baseball after leading his team to the LHSAA State Tournament, while finishing with just four losses. St. Joseph’s-Plaucheville’s Ken Knight earned Coach of the Year honors in softball. Knight missed a couple of games due to a medical procedure, but ultimately led the Eagles to the Class C title game and a 22-5 record. The LSWA teams are selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Two players from Family Christian Academy, seniors Mike Hopkins and Mason Dias, were the only Baton Rouge players selected for the team.

Diaz hit .562 with four home runs and four doubles for the Flames, who advanced to the quarterfinal playoff round. Hopkins batted .519 with one home run, two triples and eight doubles.

Lafauci was joined by three teammates — sophomore Ty Morgan (.404), senior Andre Bedel (.464) and freshman Chance Gordon (.379 ) — on the LSWA baseball squad.

Rounding out the all-state baseball squad were Ebarb senior Sam Brandon (.562), Reeves senior Travis Schultz (7-3, 2.62 ERA), Georgetown senior Caleb Lasyone (.391, 21 stolen bases), the Claiborne Christian trio of senior Wesley Drake (10-3, .571), sophomore Griffith Olinde (.500) and junior Andrew Holmes (.441), the Downsville Charter combo of junior Seth Powell (.451), senior Dillon Ridgway (.553) and junior Nick Clark (.505) and Summerfield junior Jake Foster (.340, 27 RBIs).

Beard had a trio of her Hackberry teammates join her on the squad, including senior Sydney Broussard (.400), freshman Gracie Devall (.368) and junior Abby Trahan (.361).

Three players from St. Joseph’s — juniors Tiffany Knight (.551) and Elizabeth Link (.439), along with sophomore pitcher Macey Firmin (22-5) — were named to the softball team. Starks’ senior trio of Wendy Gillet (.592), Destiny Grimshaw (.492) and Jade Berry (.439), the Northside Christian duo of senior Madison Clement (17-0) and Zoie Hanagriff (.420), Calvin senior Jancee Lashley (13-5), Plainview eighth-grader Madison Pippen (10-5), Georgetown junior Kandis Truelove (.450) and Claiborne Christian eighth-grader Kaylon Cory (.422) complete the softball squad.