Six coaches from the Acadiana, Baton Rouge and New Orleans areas were part of a group that received statewide coaching honors in their respective sports from the National Federation of State High School Associations.

The awards were presented during the Louisiana High School Coaches Association’s general business meeting Tuesday at the Crowne Plaza. The business meeting helped open the LHSCA’s annual three-day coaches clinic.

Brusly’s Jimmy Bible (wrestling), Zachary’s Chris Carrier (girls track), Catholic High’s Doug Logsdon (swimming), Metairie Park Country Day’s Mike McGuire (boys basketball), St. Thomas More’s Gary Perkins (baseball) and St. Paul’s Sean Moser (boys soccer) also received NFHS awards.

Washington-Marion’s Freddie Harrison was elected as the second vice president for the LHSCA. Tulane Sports Medicine received the LHSCA’s Distinguished Service Award. Harrison beat St. Thomas More boys basketball coach Danny Broussard by an 85-70 margin.

A total of 890 coaches registered on the first day of the clinic, an increase of over 100 from the 2014 opening-day registration.

Wednesday’s speakers

The clinic continues on Wednesday with sessions starting at 9 a.m. at the Crowne Plaza. Louisiana-Lafayette football coach Mark Hudspeth and his co-defensive coordinators, Melvin Smith and Charlie Harbison, are scheduled to speak in separate sessions at 11 a.m.

Mississippi State men’s basketball coach Ben Howland has two sessions, starting at 9 a.m. Former LSU assistant Kermit Washington of Middle Tennessee begins two basketball sessions at 11 a.m.

Leonard Marshall, a former LSU and New York Giants standout is part of a 3 p.m. “Practice Like Pros” session, promoting fewer contract drills for practice.

Episcopal boys basketball coach Chris Beckman and St. Michael the Archangel baseball coach Johnny Bernhard also are among the Wednesday speakers. Bernhard is scheduled to speak at 9 a.m., while Beckman’s session is set for 3 p.m.

More awards, scholarships

Former St. Amant multi-sport standout Kara Gremillion was one of two athletes who received $2,500 Fodale Leadership scholarships. Barbe swimmer Zachary Stump was the other.

Ascension Catholic’s Zach Capello, Berwick’s Shannon Theriot, St. Charles Catholic’s Jeffrey Millet and Hahnville’s Brice Soignier were among the Allstate Sugar Bowl $1,500 scholarship recipients. Menard’s Mallory Robichaux and St. Charles’ Albert Hane received the $1,500 Fuzzy Brown scholarships.

Catholic High’s Landon Futch (Fox Sports), Allie Dornier of Lutcher (LHSCA), Holy Cross’s Montana Giordano (LHSCA), Erath’s Ashlyn Leger (LHSCA) also were among the $1,000 scholarship recipients.

William “Bill” Mitchell of St. Amant and Dutchtown (baseball, football), Kevin Nee of Baton Rouge (gymnastics), George Newport of Baton Rouge High (swimming) and H.L. Bourgeois’ Peter Verret III (volleyball, tennis) were among the coaches who received 25-year service plaques.