Scotlandville High won its second straight Class 5A boys basketball title by notching an 80-71 overtime win over Ouachita in the title game played in Monroe earlier this month.

Now the Hornets have swept the top two honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State teams. Senior post player Damian Jones was voted the Outstanding Player on the squad, while Carlos Sample netted Coach of the Year honors. Comeaux’s Rob Melanson also was also considered.

“I’m so happy for Damian,” Sample said. “He’s the true definition of a student-athlete, and he’s also improved so much as a player through hard work. I honestly feel like his best basketball is ahead of him.

“Winning it (Coach of the Year award) is humbling for me. The players make this possible. The support I’ve gotten from the school, the administration and especially my family and my wife made it possible for me to coach and enjoy the success we have.”

It was the fourth straight title-game appearance for Scotlandville. The Hornets finished 34-3.

Jones, a 6-foot-10 Vanderbilt signee, averaged 15.3 points, 9.0 rebounds and 5.2 blocked shots for SHS.

Guard Jessy Ellis, who helped Shreveport-based Southwood win its 11th state girls basketball title, leads the LSWA 5A girls team. She averaged 18.1 points, 7.4 rebounds and 5.2 assists a game.

Sulphur’s Helen Leferve was picked as the girls Coach of the Year. Natchitoches Central’s Emma Boozman was also considered.

Joining Jones on the boys first team are East St. John’s Elex Carter (7.6 points, 12.5 rebounds), Ouachita’s Chris Sumbler (16.1 points, 4.1 assists), Comeaux’s Hayward Register (19.5 ppg, 4.2 rebs) and Scotlandville teammate Brian Bridgewater (15.0 ppg, 8.3 rebs).

Ellis is joined on the girls first team by Southwood teammate Kourtney Pennywell (15.8 ppg, 6.8 rebs), along with Northshore’s Bre Warren (26.2 ppg), Ouachita’s Kevion Moten (12.7 ppg, 10.2 rebs) and Natchitoches Central’s Victoria Rachal (15.8 ppg, 8.0 rebounds).

Walker’s Mi’ca Lowe (21.3 ppg), Sulphur’s Hannah Cupit (14.2 ppg), New Iberia’s Moesha Kinard (19.8 ppg) and West Monroe’s Abby Lee (15.1 ppg) were girls second-team picks.

East Ascension’s Ja’Cardo Hawkins (17.1), Ouachita’s Cameron Sims (13.4 ppg), St. Amant’s Donald LeBlanc (15. ppg), Ruston’s Jerry Melton (26.0 ppg) and South Lafourche’s Trevon Evans (22.6) made the boys second team.