The Edna Karr and Landry-Walker football teams, winners of state championships in December, will be honored Saturday at a parade in Algiers.

The event is called the Algiers Parade of Champions and will begin at 10 a.m.

The parade will start at the corner of Kabel and Berkley and will turn left down MacArthur Boulevard, turn right on Holiday and then travel up General Meyer.

It'll be the second time in three days the teams will be honored.

The New Orleans City Council recognized both teams  Thursday at City Hall. The council proclaimed Dec. 10, 2016 as Algiers Champions Day. It was on that day that Karr defeated Neville for the Class 4A title and Landry-Walker beat West Monroe for the 5A crown. It was the third state championship for Karr and the first for Landry-Walker.

Former high school coach Winston Riley dies

Winston Riley, a former high school coach at L.B. Landry High School and at O. Perry Walker, died Tuesday.

Riley's death came just two days after his 81st birthday on Sunday.

Riley coached girls basketball, volleyball and girls track at L.B. Landry, beginning in the 1970s.

He coached girls volleyball, boys basketball and was an assistant girls track coach at O. Perry Walker.

The girls track team at O. Perry Walker won a pair of state championships in 1984 and 1985.

He spent the past few seasons as an assistant girls basketball coach at Helen Cox.

Funeral arrangements are pending.

Strong local presence on LVCA all-state team

The greater New Orleans area was well-represented on the Louisiana Volleyball Coaches All-State team.

In all, 29 of the 51 players on the team represented local schools.

Pope John Paul II, which won its third consecutive Division IV title, was the most represented team with four players (Danna Milayne, Camille Dedeaux, Ansley Tullis and Tyler Sanderson).

Country Day, winners of the Division V championship, along with McGehee and Hannan had three players chosen.

Also picked were Country Day's Jenna Ibieta, who was also The New Orleans Advocate's Metro Player of the Year for Small Schools, along with teammates Leigh Maher and Alex Smith.

Naya Gros, Jaida Felix and Maddy Tillery made it from McGehee, while Hannan was represented by Danielle Loup, Mikayla Boyer and Hailey Cabeceiras.

Other local players chosen for the team were: Mount Carmel's Ellie Holman and Kellie Kampen; Mandeville's Sam Gomez and Emily Boyan; Ursuline Academy's Macie Grubbs and Jessica Addvensky; St. Scholastica's Allison Weimer and Alexis Colomb; Newman's Cameryn Jones; Riverside's Sydney Joseph; Sacred Heart's Claire Moreau; Dominican's Adelia Obioha; Slidell's Jaslyn Bright; Fointainebleau's Caroline Golden; Ben Franklin's Claire Molaison; and Lutcher's Janaya Taylor.

Follow Rod Walker on Twitter, @rwalkeradvocate.