Stephen Klein did a little bit of everything for the De La Salle baseball team.

The junior pitched, played first base and roamed the outfield for the Cavaliers.

He excelled on the mound, in the field and at the plate and, for his efforts, he was named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A all-state baseball team.

Klein batted .402, he hit two home runs, eight doubles and three triples and was selected to the All-District 10-3A team after helping the Cavs reach the first round of the Division II select playoffs. He also scored 27 runs, stole four bases and drove in 32 while recording slugging and on-base percentages of .632 and .514. On the mound, Klein went 5-2 with a 1.75 ERA and 40 strikeouts in 44 innings.

Klein was the only player from the greater New Orleans area selected to the Class 3A team.

Players who led their teams to state titles headlined the baseball and softball teams. South Beauregard’s Chance Clark was voted outstanding player on the baseball squad, and Kaylee Lopez of North Vermilion claimed the same honor in softball.

Coaches for the teams that finished as the 3A runners-up, Brusly softball's Beau Bouvier and Iowa baseball's Sean Richard, grabbed coach of the year honors on the squads, selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Clark was a versatile performer for the Knights, excelling as a shortstop and pitcher. He was 10-3 with a 1.92 ERA and batted .419 with 22 doubles, 29 stolen bases, seven home runs and 39 RBIs.

Lopez led North Vermilion to its 3A title with a .612 batting average that included 16 home runs and 29 RBIs. She was 5 for 5 in the title game.

Bouvier’s Brusly softball team finished 31-5 and won the District 6-3A title while claiming the No. 1 playoff seed in 3A. Richard led Iowa baseball to a 30-9 record, including an upset of top-seeded Brusly in the semifinals.

LSWA Class 3A all-state teams


Player School Class Stat

P Shelby Breaux North Vermilion Jr. 25-3

P Karli Ortego Pine Prairie Sr. 23-7

P Mary-Cathryn Comeaux Brusly So. 20-3

P Anna Bordelon Parkview Baptist Jr. 24-5

C Demi Boudreaux North Vermilion Sr. .532

IF Kayelea Dearmon Jena Jr. .442

IF Kassidy Grantadams Winnfield Jr. .515

IF Kaylee Lopez North Vermilion Jr. .612

IF Annemarie Peavy Parkview Baptist Jr. .460

OF Karli David Brusly Sr. .374

OF Audrey Greely Parkview Baptist So. .581

OF Anna Rodenburg E.D. White Sr. .550

UTL Layni Smith Buckeye Fr. .520

UTL Claire Riddick Loyola Sr. .522

UTL Myka Lester Westlake So. .472

UTL Kylie Naomi North Vermilion Jr. .543

UTL Connor Stockstill Caldwell Sr. 20-8

Outstanding player: Kaylee Lopez, North Vermilion

Coach of the year: Beau Bouvier, Brusly

Honorable mention: Ryley Crochet, Iota; Katelyn Courville, St. Louis; MacKenzie Gros, E.D. White Catholic; Avery Sanders, E.D. White Catholic; Kiri Parker, St. James; Jordan Lipari, Berwick, Brenn Ursin, Lutcher; Bobbi McNaughton, Buckeye; Britney Taylor, Albany; Rachael Yocum, Winnfield; Allyson Klein, Iota; Sara Tate, Pine Prairie; Hailey Weems, Parkview Baptist; Alexie Carter, Winnfield; Tyra Triplett, Winnfield; Morgan Harlow, Westlake; Baleigh Glover, Westlake; Becca Fantroy, Iota; Aymslee Johnson, Iota; Jacie McFarlain, Pine Prairie; Kyana Thymes, Brusly; Emily Barrett, Winnfield; Bailey Dubus, St. Louis; Julia Chaddrick, Pine Prairie; Tia Brown, Jena Jaclyn Deason, South Beauregard; Brianna Murray, North Webster


Player School Class Stat

P Chance Clark South Beauregard Sr. 10-3

P Logan Gray St. Louis Jr. 7-2

P Cameron Wiley Berwick Sr. 10-2

P Tyler Theriot Brusly Jr. 10-1

C Parker Fink Jena Sr. .405

IF Ryan Jeansonne Buckeye Jr. .429

IF Ben Bergeron Brusly Sr. .479

IF Connor Dupuy North Vermilion Sr. .419

IF Riley Orr North Webster Sr. .438

OF Wes Toups E.D. White So. 494

OF Daniel Cabrera Parkview Baptist Sr. .510

OF Jansen Fontenot South Beauregard Sr. .412

UTL Stephen Klein De La Salle Jr. .402

UTL Stephen Soignet E.D. White Sr. .367

UTL Hanson Raymond Iowa Sr. 8-3

UTL Lamar Farris Jena Jr. .340

UTL Hayden Gunter South Beauregard Sr. .398

Outstanding player: Chance Clark, South Beauregard

Coach of the year: Sean Richard, Iowa

Honorable mention: Evan Goss, Westlake; Tristan Morse, Iowa; Charlie Gallusser, North Vermilion; Darian Duhon, North Vermilion; Brenn Faulk, Erath; Mason Granger, Erath; Gunner Fontenot, Eunice; Josh Humphries, Buckeye; Tyler Welch, Buckeye; Devin Desandro, E.D. White; Ethan Bland, Lutcher; Nathan Boe, Parkview Baptist; Nick Canevari, University; Michael Guidry, Westlake; Connor Manola, Brusly; Craig Walker, Jena; Cameron Fontenot, St. Louis; Brayden Winn, Westlake; Cortlon Caesar, Iowa; Cody Roberie, Berwick; Julian Gonzales, St. Louis; Andrew Askew, Berwick; Jeremiah Ceasar, St. Louis; Dyami Huntsberry, Iowa

Follow Rod Walker on Twitter, @rwalkeradvocate.