There’s about a month left in the high school cross country/swimming seasons, and the final countdown begins this weekend.

Walker hosts its 2015 Varsity Sports/Walker Shootout cross country meet Friday and Saturday, while the final two regular-season swim meets are set for Saturday at the Crawfish Aquatics pool.

“It’s been a great cross country season so far and this is another big meet,” Walker coach Will Silk said. “We’ve got a lot of teams and runners coming. Considering the course conditions and cooler temperatures, we’re going to see some fast times.”

The Walker meet begins Friday with junior high races and concludes a list of large regular-season meets. Varsity action begins at 9 a.m. Saturday with the Large School/Class 5A-4A girls race, followed by the Large Schools boys race at 9:40 a.m. The Small Schools/3A and below girls race is set for 10:15 a.m., and the boys race is at 11 a.m. Silk said 1,572 runners are entered.

A total of 19 teams will compete in the two CCSL meets. The first meet begins at 8:15 a.m. and the second at noon at the Crawfish Aquatics pool.

Many of the top teams in south Louisiana are scheduled to run at the Walker Shootout. Class 5A girls powers St. Joseph’s Academy and Mandeville are expected to duel for the large schools title. St. Paul’s, Catholic High and John Curtis are 5A boys powers entered.

Runners and spectators will be watching the clock thanks to the fact that a series of fast times were recorded at hill-laden Highland Road Park. Walker’s Hutchinson Park offers a flat course.

The existing boys three-mile record of 14 minutes, 57 seconds was set by former Runnels and current UL-Lafayette runner Matthew Rice in 2011. The girls record of 17:22 was set by Gabrielle Jennings of First Baptist Christian.

Jennings is among the girls entrants. Highland record-setters Devyn Keith of Curtis and Eric Coston of St. Paul’s are expected to compete in the large schools boys race.


Dutchtown High and Baton Rouge High help lead the group of teams set to compete in the 8:15 a.m. meet. The Capital City Swim League Champions are next on Oct. 31-Nov. 1.

Other teams entered include Central, Denham Springs, St. Michael the Archangel, Walker, East Ascension, Runnels and University.

Lutcher, Parkview Baptist, Brusly and West Feliciana are teams to note in the noon meet.

The Dunham School, Lee, Plaquemine, St. James, St. Thomas Aquinas and St. Amant also are part of the mix.