State champions St. Thomas More and Salmen High were among the top teams that made their mark on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State basketball teams.

STM’s Trey Touchet was selected as the Outstanding Player on the boys squad after leading the Lafayette-based Cougars to their first state title since 1986. Salmen’s Kalani Brown was voted the girls Outstanding Player after leading her school to its first state title since 1997.

Baton Rouge native Devan Clark, who coached STM’s District 5-4A Lafayette rival Northside High (29-8) to a runner-up finish, was picked as the boys Coach of the Year by a panel of sportswriters from across the state. Peabody’s James Smith also was considered for the boys coaching honor. Clark, a former Southern Lab and Southern University player, also won the LSWA honor in 2007.

“As a coach, you’re locked into your team and what you do,” Clark said. “And to know that people outside our program appreciate what you do as a coach means something. It’s a huge honor, but one I wouldn’t have without my team.”

Tami Reynolds-McClure, of Baton Rouge’s St. Michael the Archangel (32-5), was selected as girls Coach of the Year after her team advanced to the semifinals.

“All the credit goes to my players,” St. Michael’s Reynolds-McClure said. “They made it possible with their work. They responded to every challenge.”

Touchet, a 6-foot-2 junior, led St. Thomas More to a 34-4 record by compiling averages of 20.3 points, 5.2 rebounds and 2.3 assists.

Brown (6-5), a sophomore and the daughter of former NBA player P.J. Brown, averaged 18 points, 12 rebounds and four blocked shots a game for the Spartans (29-3), who edged the St. Thomas More girls in the title game.

Istrouma’s Marquise Kaigler (15 ppg, 8 rebs) was the lone Baton Rouge boys player selected and made the first team. St. Augustine’s Craig Victor (14.1 points, 11.3 rebounds) was a New Orleans player picked for the first team. Alexandria’s Christavious Gill (23.5 points, 7.2 assists) and Pebody’s Gabriel Jordan (18 points, 13 rebounds) complete the boys first team.

Two New Orleans players, O.P. Walker’s Tyree Griffin (17.5 points, 8.0 assists) and Holy Cross’ Greg White-Pittman (21.7 ppg), made the second team. Vandebilt Catholic’s Lionheart Leslie (24 points, 11 rebounds) also made the second team.

New Orleans-area players joining Brown on the girls first team were Warren Easton’s Lawriell Wilson (14 ppg) and McDonogh 35’s Kaitlyn Pratt (28.6 points, 17 rebs). STM’s Jodi Quinn (9.2 points, 3.5 steals) and Vandebilt Catholic’s Shakira Harding (12.5 ppg) completed the first team.

The girls second team featured St. Michael’s Taylor Morrison (13 points, 7.0 rebounds), Ursuline’s Jenna Deemer (21.2 ppg)and Easton’s Jeremica Edwards (15 ppg).