Florien won its second straight state softball title in early May. Two weeks later Fairview captured its first state title in baseball.

Those titles brought plenty of recognition on the Class B All-State teams selected by a panel of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Florien placed five players on the LSWA softball team, led by sophomore pitcher Abbey McMillian, who claimed Outstanding Player honors for a second straight year after going 23-1 with a 0.69 earned run average.

Grace Christian senior Jacob Harrison, who belted what is believed to be a nation-leading 20 home runs, was selected as the Outstanding Player on the baseball squad.

Veteran Fairview baseball coach Greg Manuel picked up Coach of the Year honors after leading the Panthers to their first state title and had three of his players garner first-team accolades. Quitman’s Kristian Muse was voted the softball Coach of the Year after leading her team to a runner-up finish.

Two players from the Baton Rouge area, Holden’s Ray Hutchinson and Maurepas Donovan Thibodeaux, grabbed spots on the baseball squad as utility players.

Hutchinson, a Southeastern Louisiana University signee, played shortstop and pitched, compiling a .367 batting average with seven doubles, four home runs, 25 RBIs and 18 stolen bases. He struck out 81 in 43 innings pitched.

Thibodeaux, a junior, was the District 8-B MVP and finished with a .569 average, 31 RBIs and 18 stolen bases.

Sophomore Caitlyn Corley (.431), freshman Bailey McCleary (.422), junior Adrianna Phillips (.356) and sophomore Kaitlin Davis (.471) are Florien’s other players on the softball squad.

Rounding out the softball team were Castor senior Molly Wilson (17-3, .549), Monterey senior Paige Bryan (15-8, .480), Anacoco senior Tristan Harvey (.611), Quitman junior Lyndsey Hayes (23-4), Glenmora senior Jami Johnson (.625), Avoyelles Charter senior Cassie Kuplesky (.350), Fairview senior Haley Perkins (.478), Converse senior Lauren Sistrunk (.500), Castor senior Lori Wallace (.493), Fairview eighth-grader Olivia G. Williams (.500) and Monterey senior Karlee Woodruff (.505).

Fairview was represented on the all-state baseball team by sophomore Brennan Maddox (.636), an LSU commitment, along with sophomore pitcher Garrett Lavergne (7-1) and junior Payton Gordon (.464). Runner-up Glenmora also had three players named to the team: senior shortstop Kylar Martin (.405), sophomore infielder Travis McNett (.380) and sophomore infielder Dylan Stokes (.434).

Other team members are Monterey senior Trey Book (.349), Simpson senior Lane Merriman (.396), Grace Christian senior pitcher T.J. Miller (11-2), Anacoco senior left-hander Jason Ortiz (.415), Florien senior Tyler Partridge (.445), Monterey junior pitcher Kade Passman (8-1) and Anacoco sophomore Will Reese (.356).