LSU outfielder Mikie Mahtook was an overwhelming selection as the 2011 All-Louisiana Hitter of the Year, while LSU-Shreveport coach Rocke Musgraves, who led his team to the NAIA World Series, was named the state’s Coach of the Year, as the All-Louisiana Baseball Teams were released Saturday by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

Mahtook joined fellow LSU teammates — pitcher Kurt McCune and designated hitter Raph Rhymes — as first-team selections to lead all state schools with five first- and second-team selections.

McNeese State equaled LSU with the most first-team selections with three. Rhymes beat out Northwestern State pitcher Joe Scanio as the state’s Newcomer of the Year, as Tiger second baseman JaCoby Jones was selected as the Freshman of the Year.

Southeastern Louisiana’s Tyler Watkins was named Pitcher of the Year.

Mahtook, a junior from Lafayette, earned first team All-Southeast Conference honors and was a first round draft pick by the Tampa Bay Rays after he hit .383 with 14 home runs and 56 RBIs. He ranked in the top three in the league in nearly every offensive category.

Watkins, a senior, compiled a 10-3 record and a 3.26 ERA. He earned second-team All-Southland Conference honors after becoming the first SLU pitcher since 1996 to win 10 games in a season.

Rymes hit .360 and led LSU with 77 hits. The sophomore from Monroe finished the season with 18 doubles, three home runs, and 42 RBIs.

Jones was a freshman All-SEC selection after he hit .338 with 11 doubles, four homers, and 32 RBIs.

Musgraves coached the Pilots to a 47-15 record and a semifinal appearance in the NAIA World Series — falling to eventual national champion Concordia by an 8-4 score. The Pilots claimed the Red River Athletic Conference regular season title with a 26-4 conference record and went a perfect 4-0 in the RRAC tournament to claim their fifth tournament title in the last six years.

Joining Mahtook, McCune and Rhymes on the first team were pitchers Watkins (SLU), Seth Webster (Nicholls State), Jordan LeGros (McNeese State); first baseman Frazier Hall (Southern); second baseman Jordan Marks (Louisiana College); shortstop Jace Peterson (McNeese State); third baseman Mark Threlkeld (Louisiana Tech); catcher Jeremy Schaffer (Tulane); Rhymes at DH; outfield Seth Granger (McNeese State), Mike Petello (ULL), and Mahtook; and utility player Nick Schneeberger (Tulane).