A pair of surprise state championship teams will be among those honored at the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame banquet Aug. 2 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome.

East Jefferson’s undefeated Class 4A football team and Mount Carmel’s Class 5A girls basketball champions were cited as the top New Orleans high school teams for the 2013-14 season.

East Jeff, which hadn’t won a playoff game since 1970, went 15-0, capping its season by beating Karr in the Class 4A nonselect title game. Warriors coach Nick Saltaformaggio, who has since taken over at Hahnville, was named outstanding boys high school coach.

Mount Carmel started the Class 5A girls basketball playoffs as the No. 9 seed but wound up with the school’s first title.

The banquet also will feature induction into the Hall of Fame for five athletes — those honorees will be announced Wednesday — and the Corbett Award, which goes to the state’s top amateur athletes. Those will be announced Thursday.

The others who will be honored at the ceremony, which is sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, are Joe Ferrand of Ben Franklin, outstanding girls high school coach (soccer); Kalani Brown of Salmen, outstanding female amateur (basketball); Leonard Fournette of St. Augustine, outstanding male amateur (football); and Louisiana-Lafayette baseball coach Tony Robichaux, outstanding college coach in Louisiana.

Ferrand coached Ben Franklin to the boys and girls state titles in Division II. His girls finished the season on a 40-game winning streak.

Brown led Salmen to a 33-1 record and a second straight Class 4A state title. Fournette was all-everything for St. Aug and was the nation’s No. 1 high school recruit. He signed with LSU.

Robichaux led the Ragin’ Cajuns to a school record 58 victories and a national seed in the NCAA tournament.