Riverside Academy didn’t win the Class 2A state baseball title this season.

That honor went to Kinder.

But that didn’t stop the Rebels from matching Kinder in number of players chosen for the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 2A all-state baseball team.

Riverside, which reached the quarterfinals, placed three players on the team, matching Kinder.

Catcher Brandon Morris, infielder Mason Vicknair and outfielder Tyler Gauthier were all chosen to the team.

Morris, a junior, batted .371 this season for the Rebels.

Gauthier, also a junior, batted .403 and Vicknair, a sophomore hit .377.

Zach Rider, one of three Kinder players to make the team, was named Most Outstanding Player.

Rider, a McNeese State signee who was 8-0 on the mound for the repeat champions, is a two-time LSWA Outstanding Player honoree.

Riverside was also well represented on the all-state softball team, with two players selected.

The senior duo of Hailey Tassin and Erica Delauneville both made the team.

Tassin, an infielder, batted .439 for Riverside, which made it to the 2A semifinals.

Delauneville,who was voted to the all-state team as a utility player, batted. .478.

They were two of four players from the New Orleans area to be chosen.

Hannan sophomore utility player Shaye Tredinich and junior outfielder Jensen Volz made the team as well.

Tredinich hit .440 and Volz batted .530 for Hannan, which reached the quarterfinals.

Jensen Howell of Menard was named Most Outstanding Player.

Howell garnered the Outstanding Player honors after helping the Eagles to a state title. She batted .341 with 25 RBIs and was a top pitcher for Menard but made the all-district and LSWA teams as an infielder.

Oak Grove’s Ty Rollinson is the LSWA baseball Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers a runner-up finish in 2A. Lyn Bankston of Winnfield, the 2A softball runner-up, was picked as the softball Coach of the Year. A panel of sportswriters from across the state selected the teams.