Saints Bills Football

New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees (9) shakes hands with Buffalo Bills quarterback Tyrod Taylor (5) after an NFL football game Sunday, Nov. 12, 2017, in Orchard Park, N.Y. (AP Photo/Jeffrey T. Barnes)

The New Orleans Saints have nominated Drew Brees for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, established in 2014 and annually given to players for showing sportsmanship on the field.

Every NFL team nominates a player for the award, which is presented during the NFL Honors show the night before the Super Bowl. 

A committee of former players select the eight finalists, and then current players select the winner when they vote for the Pro Bowl in December.

Established in 2014, the award is relatively young. Indianapolis Colts running back Frank Gore, former Green Bay Packers and Oakland Raiders defensive back Charles Woodson and Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald have won the award. 

Follow Joel A. Erickson on Twitter, @JoelAErickson.