NO.tulanehouston001.111917.jpg

Tulane coach Willie Fritz gives instructions against the Houston Cougars on Saturday, November 18, 2017 at Yulman Stadium in New Orleans.

The Tulane Green Wave lost a critical season finale in the cruelest of ways Saturday.

Down 41-38 at SMU with 9 seconds to go and the ball inside the Mustangs' 5-yard line, Tulane quarterback Jonathan Banks saw an opening and scampered to the goal line.

The officials ruled him down by contact just shy of the goal line, and without a timeout, time ran out on the Green Wave, who literally came up less than a yard short of its sixth win and becoming bowl eligible for the first time since 2013.

Officials reviewed the play and upheld the call on the field. 

Here's video of the final play. Do you agree? (Click here if you can't see the video below.)